Back to News

The creation of a new CCG for Bradford district and Craven


31 Mar 2020

NHS Bradford District and Craven established on 1 April 2020

NHS Bradford District and Craven CCG was established today (Wednesday 1 April 2020). The new clinical commissioning group (CCG) replaces the existing three CCGs for the area (NHS Airedale, Wharfedale and Craven CCG, NHS Bradford City CCG and NHS Bradford Districts CCG).

The former three CCGs already shared a central management team and took the decision to create a new CCG following the announcement of a required 20% reduction of running costs by NHS England/Improvement in 2019.

Local people across Bradford district and Craven should see no changes to the services they can access as a result of the move.

Helen Hirst, chief officer at NHS Bradford District and Craven CCG said: “Our former three CCGs already worked closely together and shared a central management team.

“As a result, this has put us in a very strong position when setting up our new organisation. This has served us well as we continue to work hard across our local health and care system to support the local response to coronavirus (COVID-19).

“Our teams will continue to support our health and care system as we work together to deal with the pandemic and we will do all we can to help local people stay safe at this difficult time”.

Read Next Article
NHS Bradford Districts CCG brand decoration